FAQs zur Einreichung

What kind of works will be presented at the VIDEONALE.19?
The Videonale casts light on the current trends in moving image and time-based arts and presents experimental works ranging from single and multi-channel video, video installation, performance, to sound art and virtual reality, which question the medium itself and/or political, cultural and social narratives and develop new perspectives on the subjects explored. To get a sense of the works the Videonale is looking for, please visit the websites of the past festival editions and the online Videoarchive of the Videonale.

Who may submit a work to the VIDEONALE.19 competition?
The Videonale sees itself as a platform for both emerging and established artists from all over the world. We invite artists/collectives and filmmakers of all backgrounds and ages to submit their work to the VIDEONALE.19 competition. Studies at and a degree from an art academy are not required for participation in the competition.

What kind of works are eligible for the VIDEONALE.19 competition?
The competition is open for single and multi-channel video, video installation, performance, sound art and virtual reality works. There is no restriction on duration, content, theme or genre; however, works submitted must have been completed after January 1, 2020. Please find all submission criteria in the VIDEONALE.19 regulations.

How and till when can a work be submitted for the VIDEONALE.19?
You can submit your work through our online submission platform till June 30, 2022 (23:59 CET). Till then the submission form must be completed, a working preview link to the full-length work must be provided and the administration fee paid. Only in that case has your work been accepted for the competition and will be considered for the VIDEONALE.19 by the jury.

Can I submit my work per email or mail?

No, only submissions through our online submission platform will be accepted. There you can fill in the information required, upload additional files, which may contribute to the understanding of your work, as well as pay the administration fee via PayPal.

Can I submit more than one work?
Artists/artist collectives may submit up to two works each. Each work should be submitted by filling out a separate submission form and the administration fee for each work must be paid.

What submission materials are required?
Please find details about the information required about you and your work in the VIDEONALE.19 regulations.

May I submit an incomplete work / a performance or video installation that has not been realized yet?
Your work should be completed or at least shortly before completion. In any case please provide a preview link to the preliminary version and information giving a clear sense of your work / the planned completion and presentation. If your work is selected for the VIDEONALE.19, the final version will be required by December 2022.
In case you are submitting a work in the categories of performance or video installation, please provide a detailed description of the performance / installation instructions outlining any specific spatial, equipment and logistical requirements for the presentation of your work.

Does the VIDEONALE.19 accept and present works that have already been presented at other festivals and have possibly received an award?
Yes, the Videonale does consider works which have premiered at other festivals and been awarded a prize. As a festival of discovery, we aim to offer a platform for emerging artists and new works, therefore we especially encourage artists who have not yet had the possibility to present their works publicly to submit for the VIDEONALE.19.

How does the selection process for the VIDEONALE.19 look like?
All works submitted for the competition will be reviewed by an international expert jury including art critics, artists and curators. The Four Eyes Principle applies: each work will be viewed and considered for the selection by at least two jury members. The final selection will be decided by all jury members after a thorough discussion. You will find information about the jury members and gain an impression of the selection process of the past festivals here.

How many works will be selected and presented at the VIDEONALE.19?
At the VIDEONALE.19 there will be around 30 works presented in the exhibition in the Kunstmuseum Bonn and within the festival program, which have been selected by an international jury from all submissions for the competition within the worldwide open call.

How will the works be presented at the VIDEONALE.19?
The Videonale is one of the few festivals worldwide that hosts an exhibition of exclusively video and time-based art in a museum context over several weeks. In contrast to other festivals with screenings in cinemas, the selected works are presented in an exhibition. For this purpose, the Videonale has an exhibition area of over 800 square meters at its disposal in the Kunstmuseum Bonn. A team of architects and designers develops a technically and creatively innovative exhibition architecture for each Videonale. The decision on the best possible form of presentation of the individual works will be made in consultation between the artistic director of the VIDEONALE.19, the artist and the exhibition architect. You have the possibility to indicate a preference for the presentation of your work (as projection or on a monitor) in the entry form or to submit installations instructions. Impressions of exhibition architectures of past Videonales can be found here.

What exhibition formats are accepted?
Selected works will not be presented in a cinema, but in an exhibition or as part of events within the festival program, , In exceptional cases 35mm,16mm and Super 8 projections may be realized. DCP projections and Surround Sound are not possible. Technical specifications for the exhibition copy will be sent to the selected artists after the official announcement has been made.

I have already competed my submission but would like to correct some details or add something. Is it possible?
Please send this as a request to submissions@videonale.org till June 29, 2022 at the latest and include the ID No. of your submission.

How will I find out whether my work has been selected for the VIDEONALE.19?
We will inform you about the decision of the jury by email starting October 2022. Selected artists will be announced in autumn 2022.
In the case your work is not selected for the VIDEONALE.19, we will unfortunately not be able to give you personal feedback due to the large amount of submissions. In this case, please don’t feel discouraged. Far more impressive works are submitted than we are able to present in the exhibition. If your work has not been selected for the VIDEONALE.19 it may still be perfectly suitable and be selected for another festival.

What happens if my work is selected for the VIDEONALE.19?
You will receive an official confirmation of your participation and an invitation to the festival in Bonn by no later than the end of October, as well as information regarding the presentation format, catalogue production, payment of the exhibition fee and your attendance at the opening of the VIDEONALE.19.

What can I expect as a participating artist at VIDEONALE.19?
All selected artists will receive an exhibition fee and accommodation during the opening days, as well as the opportunity to participate in festival and networking events. We would like to develop our festival program during the opening days and the entire exhibition even more at the interface with the exhibited works. We will therefore contact all participating artists early on before the opening and invite them to work with us to create formats for exploring their artistic positions.
Participation in the design of the formats is our express wish, but not a condition. All activities will be remunerated in addition to the exhibition fee.
Among all selected works at the opening of VIDEONALE.19 the Videonale Award by Fluentum, endowed with 5,000 Euros, will be awarded by an independent award jury.

Is the VIDEONALE.19 barrier-free?
The art museum Bonn is accessible for walking disabled visitors and wheelchair users. We try to make the festival program of the VIDEONALE.19 as barrier-free as possible. Detailed information on this will be available on our website from the beginning of 2023.

If you have any questions or problems with your submission, please email to submissions@videonale.org.

You are here: VIDEONALE.19 / CALL FOR ENTRIES / FAQs

FAQs zur Einreichung

Welche Art von Werken werden bei der VIDEONALE.19 präsentiert?
Die Videonale bildet aktuelle Tendenzen aus dem Bereichen Video- und zeitbasierte Kunst ab. Sie präsentiert experimentelle Arbeiten aus den Bereichen Einkanal- und Mehrkanalvideo, Videoinstallation, Performance, Sound Art und Virtual Reality, die sich mit dem technischen Medium selbst und seinen ästhetischen Bedingungen und/oder mit aktuellen politischen, kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Erzählungen auseinandersetzen und neue Perspektiven auf diese entwickeln. Wenn du einen Überblick über die Werke vergangener Videonale-Editionen erhalten möchtest, besuche unsere Festival-Webseiten und das Online Videoarchiv der Videonale.

Wer kann eine Arbeit für den VIDEONALE.19 Wettbewerb einreichen?
Die Videonale versteht sich als eine Plattform für sowohl aufstrebende als auch etablierte Künstler*innen aus aller Welt. Wir laden Künstler*innen/Kollektive und Filmemacher*innen jeglicher Herkunft und jeglichen Alters ein, ihre Arbeit für den VIDEONALE.19 Wettbewerb einzureichen. Ein Studium und Abschluss an einer künstlerischen Hochschule ist für die Teilnahme am Wettbewerb nicht erforderlich.

Welche Arbeiten sind für den VIDEONALE.19 Wettbewerb zugelassen?
Zum Wettbewerb können Einkanal- und Mehrkanalvideos, Videoinstallationen, Performances, Sound Art und Virtual Reality Arbeiten eingereicht werden. Es gibt keine Einschränkung in Bezug auf die Dauer, den Inhalt, das Thema oder das Genre; die eingereichten Werke müssen jedoch nach dem 1. Januar 2020 vollendet worden sein. Alle Einreichkriterien im Überblick findest du in den VIDEONALE.19 Regularien.

Wie und bis wann kann eine Arbeit für die VIDEONALE.19 eingereicht werden?
Du kannst deine Arbeit über unsere Online Einreichplattform bis zum 30. Juni 2022 (23:59 CET) einreichen. Bis dahin muss das Einreichformular vollständig ausgefüllt, ein Sichtungslink zur vollständigen Arbeit angegeben und die Bearbeitungsgebühr bezahlt worden sein. Nur dann gilt deine Arbeit als eingereicht und wird von der Jury für die VIDEONALE.19 berücksichtigt.

Kann eine Arbeit per E-Mail oder per Post eingereicht werden?
Nein, nur Einreichungen über unsere Online-Einreichplattform sind möglich. Dort kannst du alle notwendigen Informationen eingeben und zusätzliche Dateien hochladen sowie die Bearbeitungsgebühr via PayPal bezahlen.

Kann ich mehr als eine Arbeit einreichen?
Pro Künstler*in/Kollektiv können bis zu zwei Arbeiten eingereicht werden. Für jede Arbeit muss ein eigenes Einreichformular ausgefüllt und die Bearbeitungsgebühr bezahlt werden.

Welche Unterlagen sind erforderlich?
Informationen zu den erforderlichen Unterlagen findest du in den VIDEONALE.19 Regularien.

Kann ich eine unvollendete Arbeit bzw. noch nicht umgesetzte Performance oder Videoinstallation einreichen?
Deine Arbeit sollte vollendet oder zumindest kurz vor der Fertigstellung sein. Reiche daher bitte in jedem Fall einen Sichtungslink zur vorläufigen Version und Informationen ein, die eine klare Vorstellung über deine Arbeit bzw. die geplante Fertigstellung und Präsentation geben können. Bei Auswahl wird die endgültige Fassung spätestens zum Dezember 2022 benötigt.
Bei Einreichungen in der Kategorie Performance und Videoinstallation reiche bitte eine ausführliche Beschreibung der Performance bzw. Installationsanweisungen ein.

Werden Arbeiten akzeptiert und bei der VIDEONALE.19 präsentiert, die bereits auf anderen Festivals gezeigt und eventuell prämiert wurden?
Ja, die Videonale berücksichtigt sowohl Arbeiten, die bei anderen Festivals ihre Premiere gefeiert als auch solche, die bereits mit einem Preis ausgezeichnet wurden. Als Festival für Entdeckungen, möchten wir aufstrebenden Künstler*innen eine Plattform bieten. Daher ermutigen wir insbesondere Künstler*innen, deren Arbeiten noch nicht öffentlich präsentiert wurden, für die VIDEONALE.19 einzureichen.

Wie verläuft das Auswahlverfahren für die VIDEONALE.19?
Alle für den Wettbewerb eingereichten Arbeiten werden von einer internationalen Fachjury aus Kritiker*innen, Künstler*innen und Kurator*innen gesichtet. Dabei gilt das Vier-Augen-Prinzip: Jede Arbeit wird von mindestens zwei Jurymitgliedern gesichtet und für die Auswahl vorgeschlagen. Über die endgültige Auswahl entscheiden alle Jurymitglieder nach einer eingehenden Diskussion.

Wie viele Werke werden bei der VIDEONALE.19 präsentiert?
Bei der VIDEONALE.19 werden rund 30 Werke in einer Ausstellung im Kunstmuseum Bonn und im Festivalprogramm präsentiert, die im Rahmen einer offenen Ausschreibung für den VIDEONALE.19 Wettbewerb von einer internationalen Jury ausgewählt wurden.

Wie werden die Werke bei der VIDEONALE.19 präsentiert?
Die Videonale ist eines der wenigen Festivals weltweit, das eine Ausstellung mit ausschließlich Video- und zeitbasierter Kunst im musealen Kontext über mehrere Wochen ausrichtet. Im Unterschied zu anderen Festivals mit Screenings im Kino werden die ausgewählten Werke in einer Ausstellung präsentiert. Dafür steht der Videonale im Kunstmuseum Bonn eine Ausstellungsfläche von über 800qm zur Verfügung. Ein Team aus Architektinnen und Designerinnen entwickelt für jede Videonale eine technisch wie gestalterisch innovative Ausstellungsarchitektur. Die Entscheidung über die bestmögliche Präsentationsform der einzelnen Arbeiten wird in Absprache zwischen künstlerischer Leitung der VIDEONALE.19, Künstlerin und Ausstellungsarchitektin getroffen. Du hast die Möglichkeit im Einreichformular eine Präferenz für die Präsentation deines Werkes anzugeben (als Projektion oder auf einem Monitor) bzw. Installationsanweisungen einzureichen. Impressionen von Ausstellungsarchitekturen vergangener Videonalen bekommst du hier.

Welche Dateiformate können in der Ausstellung präsentiert werden?
Die ausgewählten Arbeiten werden nicht im Kino, sondern in einer Ausstellung bzw. als Veranstaltungspunkte im Festivalprogramm präsentiert. 35mm,16mm und Super 8 Projektionen sind in Ausnahmefällen möglich. DCP Projektionen sowie Surround Sound sind ausgeschlossen. Die technischen Spezifikationen für die Vorführdatei werden den ausgewählten Künstler*innen nach der offiziellen Bekanntgabe mitgeteilt.

Ich habe meine Einreichung bereits abgeschlossen, würde gerne aber einige Daten korrigieren oder zufügen. Wie ist das möglich?
Sende uns bitte spätestens bis zum 29. Juni 2022 eine Anfrage an submissions@videonale.org und nenne die Nummer deiner Einreichung.

Wie erfahre ich, ob meine Arbeit für die VIDEONALE.19 ausgewählt wurde?
Wir werden dich per Email ab Oktober 2022 darüber informieren. Die ausgewählten Künstler*innen werden im Herbst 2022 bekannt gegeben. Falls deine Arbeit nicht für die VIDEONALE.19 ausgewählt wird, ist aufgrund der hohen Zahl der Einreichungen persönliches Feedback leider nicht möglich.

Was passiert, wenn meine Arbeit für die VIDEONALE.19 ausgewählt wird?
Spätestens Ende Oktober 2022 wirst du eine offizielle Teilnahmebestätigung und Einladung zum Festival nach Bonn sowie Informationen zur Präsentationsform, Katalogproduktion, Honorarzahlung und deiner Anwesenheit an der Eröffnung der VIDEONALE.19 erhalten.

Was erwartet mich als teilnehmende Künstler*in bei der VIDEONALE.19?
Alle ausgewählten Künstler*innen erhalten ein Ausstellungshonorar und eine Unterkunft während der Eröffnungstage, sowie die Möglichkeit an Festival- und Netzwerkveranstaltungen teilzunehmen. Wir möchten unser Festivalprogramm während der Eröffnungstage und der gesamten Ausstellung noch stärker an der Schnittstelle zu den ausgestellten Werken entwickeln. Frühzeitig vor der Eröffnung werden wir daher mit allen teilnehmenden Künstler*innen in Kontakt treten und sie einladen, gemeinsam mit uns Formate zur Auseinandersetzung mit ihren künstlerischen Positionen zu gestalten. Die Teilnahme an der Gestaltung der Formate ist unser ausdrücklicher Wunsch, aber keine Bedingung. Alle Aktivitäten werden zusätzlich zum Ausstellungshonorar vergütet.
Unter allen ausgewählten Werken zur Eröffnung der VIDEONALE.19 der mit 5.000 Euro dotierte Videonale Preis von Fluentum durch eine unabhängige Preisjury vergeben.

Ist die VIDEONALE.19 barrierefrei?
Das Kunstmuseum Bonn ist für gehbehinderte Besucher*innen und Rollstuhlfahrer*innen barrierefrei zugänglich. Das Festivalprogramm der VIDEONALE.19 versuchen wir so barrierearm wie möglich zu gestalten. Detaillierte Informationen hierzu findest du ab Anfang 2023 auf unserer Webseite.

Bei weiteren Fragen oder Problemen mit deiner Einreichung, schreibe uns bitte an submissions@videonale.org.

Sie befinden sich hier: VIDEONALE.19 / CALL FOR ENTRIES / FAQs