REGULATIONS VIDEONALE.19
FESTIVAL FOR VIDEO AND TIME-BASED ARTS

GENERAL

  1. VIDEONALE.19 — Festival for Video and Time-Based Arts will take place from March 31st — May 15th, 2023 at the Kunstmuseum Bonn, Germany.

  2. VIDEONALE.19 is held by Videonale e.V., an independent non-profit organization.

  3. Videonale presents all types of experimental time-based artworks — single- and multi-channel video, video installations, performances, sound art, and virtual reality works in a six-week exhibition at the Kunstmuseum Bonn, Germany.

ENTRY CRITERIA

  1. Artists/artist collectives of any nationality and age can submit up to two works. There are no restrictions on duration, content, theme or genre of the work submitted. Studies at and a degree from an art academy is not required for participation.

  2. The submitted work must have been completed after January 1, 2020.

  3. Works produced in a language other than English must have English subtitles.

  4. Submission deadline is June 30, 2022 (23:59 CET).

REQUIRED MATERIALS

  1. Only works submitted through our online submission platform will be considered.

  2. To be eligible for the selection the following materials have to be submitted:
    a. Biography
    b. List of the exhibitions/festivals the work has already been presented.
    c. Preview link to the completed work (in full-length and, if applicable, in 360°/ interactive format) on your own website or Vimeo, YouTube or a VR platform. Download links as well as trailers and excerpts are not accepted as preview copies. The preview link and password, if required, must be valid until March 2023 (the link will also be used by the authors of the catalogue texts). In the case of performance submissions, a preview link to a video documentation can be submitted, if available. In case of virtual reality submissions, an executable file and a separate pdf-file with technical specifications (required equipment, software requirements specification, installation) must be sent to submissions@videonale.org additionally.
    d. When submitting a work in the categories video installation, performance, sound art and virtual reality, detailed descriptions, installation instructions including specifications of the optimal presentation form in an exhibition as well as information about the technical requirements and, in case of performance submission, information about performance process must be enclosed additionally, as well as, if available, a preview link to a video documentation.

  3. Please refrain from sending other materials by post, for example, a portfolio or catalogue. Any materials sent to us, can only be returned, if a prepaid envelope is provided. Otherwise the materials will be disposed of.

ADMINISTRATION FEE

  1. An administration fee per submission will be charged via PayPal:
    a. until June 14, 2022: 15 euros
    b. from June 15, 2022: 20 euros

  2. Only when the administration fee has been paid is the work submitted for the competition and the submitter will receive a confirmation email. The date of payment determines the amount of the administration fee.

  3. In exceptional cases, submission fee for the competition can be waived. Reasonable requests can be sent until June 29, 2022 to submissions@videonale.org. The same applies in case of restrictions for the use of PayPal services.

  4. After completing your submission with the payment of the administration fee, changes to the submission can no longer be made.

  5. Until the submission deadline, the works submitted can be withdrawn from the competition. In such a case, the administration fee will not be refunded.

SELECTION

  1. A competition jury will decide on the participation of the submitted works in the VIDEONALE.19.

  2. All submitters will be informed about the decision of the competition jury starting from October 2022. Information about the selection process and a possible participation cannot be provided before that and we kindly ask not to make inquiries.

  3. One of the works selected for the VIDEONALE.19 will receive the Videonale Award by Fluentum worth 5.000 euros. The winner of the Videonale Award by Fluentum will be selected by an independent award jury and will be announced at the opening night of the VIDEONALE.19.

  4. Works are automatically submitted to the competition for the participation in the VIDEONALE.19 as well as the competition for the Videonale Award by Fluentum.

PRESENTATION FORM

  1. The selected works will be presented in an exhibition at the Kunstmuseum Bonn or as part of events within the festival program. In exceptional cases 35mm, 16mm and Super 8 may be realized. DCP projections and Surround Sound are not possible.

  2. The decision on the best possible form of presentation of the work will be made in consultation between the artistic director of VIDEONALE.19, the artist and the exhibition architect. The artists have the possibility to indicate a preference for the presentation of the work (as projection or on a monitor) in the entry form or to submit installations instructions.

  3. In case of selection for the VIDEONALE.19, a digital exhibition copy of the work has to be uploaded to the Videonale server no later than December, 2022. The technical specifications for the exhibition copy will be sent to the selected artists after the official announcement of the selected works.

RIGHTS

  1. When submitting the work and the submission materials for the competition, the submitter holds the rights for presenting them at the VIDEONALE.19 and for publishing it in the Videonale publications and media. The submitter declares that he/she/they has/have obtained all necessary consent from third parties as called for by regulations governing copyrights, personal property rights or other legal provisions and is/are authorized to convey such rights to Videonale, and can provide proof of it at any time if called upon by Videonale to do so.

  2. The submitted work and materials may be stored and used by Videonale for archiving, documentation and scientific research.

  3. Any commercial use of the submitted work and materials is excluded.

  4. If the submitted work is selected for the VIDEONALE.19, Videonale and a third party authorized by Videonale may store and make the selected work and submitted materials public as a whole or in part for the following non-commercial purposes:
    a. Presentation at the VIDEONALE.19 and other events organized by Videonale;
    b. Publishing of the submitted materials in the Videonale publications
    (among others, catalogue, exhibition guide) and media (among others, website, social media, app);
    c. Public Relations for the VIDEONALE.19 and other activities of Videonale.

  5. The rights conveyed to Videonale are limited to the purposes of the conveyance mentioned above, but unlimited with respect to time and geographical location. Prior consent from the rights holders is required for any other use that goes beyond that.

  6. In the case the selected work shall be presented in retrospectives, screenings, lectures or additional exhibitions in Germany and abroad as part of Videonale on Tour for non-commercial purposes, the right holders hereby give their consent and grant Videonale the non-exclusive reproduction and distribution rights in perpetuity on a worldwide basis for this purpose. The artists will be informed about that in advance and can withdraw their consent anytime.

  7. Videonale has established the online video archive of the Videonale (http://archiv.videonale.org) as a presentation platform for the selected artists beyond the festival and as a research and education tool for curators, art collectors, academics and anyone interested in video art. For this purpose, a separate agreement will be made with the submitter in case of selection for the VIDEONALE.19.

  8. Submission of a work implies acceptance of these terms and conditions. In case of doubts the German version of these regulations is binding. There is no right of appeal. All matters in doubt will be decided by the festival direction according to international guidelines.

Download the regulations as PDF here.

You are here: VIDEONALE.19 / CALL FOR ENTRIES / Regulations

REGULARIEN VIDEONALE.19
FESTIVAL FOR VIDEO AND TIME-BASED ARTS

ALLGEMEINES

  1. Die VIDEONALE.19 — Festival für Video und zeitbasierte Kunstformen findet vom 31. März — 15. Mai 2023 im Kunstmuseum Bonn statt.

  2. Veranstalter der VIDEONALE.19 ist der Videonale e.V., ein unabhängiger und gemeinnütziger Verein.

  3. Die Videonale präsentiert experimentelle zeitbasierte künstlerische Werke — Einkanal- und Mehrkanalvideo, Videoinstallationen, Performances, Sound Art und Virtual Reality Arbeiten in einer sechswöchigen Ausstellung im Kunstmuseum Bonn.

EINREICHKRITERIEN

  1. Künstler*innen/Kollektive jeglicher Nationalität und jeglichen Alters können bis zu zwei Arbeiten einreichen. Es gibt keine Einschränkung in Bezug auf die Dauer, den Inhalt, das Thema oder das Genre der Arbeit. Ein Studium und Abschluss an einer künstlerischen Hochschule ist keine Voraussetzung für eine Teilnahme.

  2. Die eingereichte Arbeit muss nach dem 1. Januar 2020 vollendet worden sein.

  3. Arbeiten, die in einer anderen Sprache als Englisch produziert sind, müssen englische Untertitel enthalten.

  4. Einreichschluss ist der 30. Juni 2022 (23:59 CET).

UNTERLAGEN

  1. Nur Einreichungen durch die Online-Einreichplattform werden akzeptiert.

  2. Folgende Unterlagen müssen eingereicht werden, um zum Auswahlverfahren zugelassen zu werden:
    a. Biografie;
    b. Liste der Ausstellungen/Festivals, auf denen die Arbeit schon präsentiert wurde;
    c. Sichtungslink zur vollständigen Arbeit (in voller Länge und ggf. interaktiv/im 360°-Format) auf der eigenen Webseite oder auf Vimeo, YouTube oder einer VR-Plattform. Download-Links sowie Trailer und Ausschnitte werden als Sichtungskopien nicht akzeptiert. Sichtungslink und ggf. Passwort müssen bis März 2023 gültig sein (der Link wird nach Bekanntgabe der ausgewählten Künstler*innen auch für Katalogautor*innen benötigt). Bei Einreichungen in der Kategorie Performance kann, soweit vorhanden, ein Sichtungslink zur Videodokumentation eingereicht werden. Bei Einreichungen in der Kategorie Virtual Reality müssen zusätzlich die ausführbare Datei und Informationen zu technischen Anforderungen (benötigte Geräte, Systemanforderungen, Installation) in einer separaten PDF-Datei per Download-Link an submissions@videonale.org gesendet werden.
    d. Einreichungen in den Kategorien Videoinstallation, Performance, Sound Art und Virtual Reality müssen zusätzlich eine ausführliche Beschreibung, Installationsanweisungen mit Angaben zur optimalen Präsentation des Werkes in einer Ausstellung sowie technische Anforderungen bzw. — im Fall von Performances — Informationen zu Ablauf und Anforderungen der Performance, sowie, soweit vorhanden, ein Sichtungslink zur Videodokumentation beigefügt werden.

  3. Von der Zusendung von zusätzlichen Materialien per Post wie z. B. Portfolios und Katalogen bitten wir abzusehen. Dennoch zugesandtes Material kann nur zurückgesendet werden, wenn ein ausreichend frankierter Rückumschlag beiliegt, andernfalls wird das Material entsorgt.

BEARBEITUNGSGEBÜHR

  1. Es wird eine Bearbeitungsgebühr für jede Einreichung über PayPal erhoben:
    a. bis 14. Juni 2022: 15 Euro;
    b. ab 15. Juni 2022: 20 Euro.

  2. Erst wenn die Bearbeitungsgebühr bezahlt wurde, ist die Arbeit zum Wettbewerb eingereicht und die Einreicher*in erhält eine Eingangsbestätigung per E-Mail. Die Höhe der Gebühr richtet sich nach dem Datum der Bezahlung.

  3. In begründeten Ausnahmefällen ist eine kostenlose Teilnahme am Wettbewerb möglich. Anfragen für eine Befreiung von der Gebühr sowie bei Einschränkungen für PayPal-Zahlungen sind spätestens bis zum 29. Juni 2022 an submissions@videonale.org möglich.

  4. Nachdem Sie Ihre Einreichung mit der Bezahlung abgeschlossen haben, sind Änderungen in Ihrer Einreichung nicht mehr möglich.

  5. Die Einreichungen können bis zum Einreichschluss zurückgezogen werden. Die Bearbeitungsgebühr wird nicht zurückerstattet.

AUSWAHL

  1. Über die Teilnahme des eingereichten Werkes an der VIDEONALE.19 entscheidet eine Wettbewerbsjury.

  2. Alle Einreicher*innen werden ab Oktober 2022 per E-Mail über die Entscheidung der Wettbewerbsjury informiert. Auskünfte über das Auswahlverfahren und eine mögliche Teilnahme können vorher nicht gegeben werden und wir bitten von Anfragen abzusehen.

  3. Unter allen für die VIDEONALE.19 ausgewählten Werken wird der mit 5.000 Euro dotierte Videonale Preis von Fluentum vergeben. Über die Vergabe des Videonale Preis von Fluentum entscheidet eine unabhängige Preisjury. Die Preisträgerin/der Preisträger wird am Eröffnungsabend der VIDEONALE.19 bekannt gegeben.

  4. Die Einreichung erfolgt automatisch zum Wettbewerb für die Teilnahme an der VIDEONALE.19 sowie zum Wettbewerb um den Videonale Preis von Fluentum.

PRÄSENTATIONSFORM

  1. Die ausgewählten Werke werden in einer Ausstellung im Kunstmuseum Bonn bzw. als Veranstaltungspunkte im Festivalprogramm präsentiert. 35mm, 16mm und Super 8 sind in Ausnahmefällen möglich. DCP Projektionen sowie Surround Sound sind ausgeschlossen.

  2. Die Entscheidung über die bestmögliche Präsentationsform der Arbeit wird in Absprache zwischen künstlerischer Leitung der VIDEONALE.19, Künstler*in und Ausstellungsarchitekt*in getroffen. Die Künstler*innen haben die Möglichkeit im Einreichformular eine Präferenz für die Präsentation des Werkes anzugeben (als Projektion oder auf einem Monitor) bzw. Installationsanweisungen einzureichen.

  3. Bei Auswahl des Werkes für die VIDEONALE.19 muss spätestens bis zum Dezember 2022 eine Vorführdatei auf den Videonale-Server hochgeladen werden. Die technischen Spezifikationen für die Vorführdatei werden den ausgewählten Künstler*innen nach der offiziellen Bekanntgabe mitgeteilt.

RECHTE

  1. Vor Einreichung des Werkes und der Unterlagen müssen den Einreicher*innen die Rechte für die Präsentation in der VIDEONALE.19 und die Veröffentlichung in den Publikationen und Medien der Videonale gegenüber anderen Rechteinhabern vorliegen. Die Einreicher*innen erklären, dass sie die erforderlichen Einwilligungen Dritter nach urheberrechtlichen, persönlichkeits- rechtlichen oder sonstigen gesetzlichen Bestimmungen eingeholt haben und berechtigt sind diese der Videonale zu übertragen, und können es auf Aufforderung der Videonale jederzeit nachweisen.

  2. Die eingereichten Werke und Unterlagen dürfen von der Videonale für Archivierung, Dokumentation und wissenschaftliche Aufarbeitung gespeichert und genutzt werden.

  3. Jede kommerzielle Nutzung der eingereichten Werke und Unterlagen ist ausgeschlossen.

  4. Wird die eingereichte Arbeit für die VIDEONALE.19 ausgewählt, darf die Videonale und von ihr dazu ermächtigte Dritte die ausgewählte Arbeit und die eingereichten Unterlagen für folgende nicht-kommerzielle Zwecke ganz oder teilweise speichern und der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich machen:
    a. die Präsentation auf der VIDEONALE.19 und anderen Veranstaltungen der Videonale;
    b. die Veröffentlichung der eingereichten Unterlagen in Videonale Publikationen (u.a. Katalog, Ausstellungsguide) und Medien (u.a. Webseite, Social Media, App);
    c. die Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit für die VIDEONALE.19 und andere Aktivitäten der Videonale.

  5. Die der Videonale eingeräumten Rechte sind auf die oben genannten Zwecke der Rechteübertragung begrenzt, jedoch zeitlich und örtlich unbeschränkt. Darüber hinaus gehende Nutzung bedarf der vorherigen Zustimmung durch die Rechteinhaber*innen.

  6. Für den Fall, dass die ausgewählte Arbeit in Werksschauen, Screenings, Vorträgen sowie weiteren Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland im Rahmen von Videonale on Tour zu nicht-kommerziellen Zwecken präsentiert wird, erklären die Rechteinhaber*innen hiermit ihr Einverständnis und räumen zu diesem Zweck die nicht-exklusiven Vervielfältigungs- und Verbreitungsrechte zeitlich, räumlich und inhaltlich unbeschränkt ein. Die Künstler*innen werden hierüber informiert und können ihr Einverständnis jederzeit widerrufen.

  7. Die Videonale betreibt ein Online Videoarchiv (http://archive.videonale.org) als Präsentationsplattform für die ausgewählten Künstler*innen über das Festivalende hinaus und als Recherche- und Bildungsinstrument für Kurator*innen, Sammler*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und alle an Videokunst Interessierten. Im Falle der Auswahl der eingereichten Arbeit für die VIDEONALE.19 wird hierfür eine eigene Vereinbarung mit den Einreicher*innen getroffen.

  8. Die Einreichung eines Werkes bedeutet die Anerkennung dieser Regularien. In Zweifelsfällen gilt die deutsche Fassung der Regularien. Der Rechtsweg ist ausgeschlossen. Die Festivalleitung entscheidet über alle Zweifelsfragen entsprechend den internationalen Richtlinien.

Die Regularien stehen hier als PDF zum Download bereit.

Sie befinden sich hier: VIDEONALE.19 / CALL FOR ENTRIES / Regularien